From depression to gratitude: my journey as the parent of a severely disabled child

Leave a comment

June 3, 2013 by marceladevivo

During a routine pre-natal checkup at 36 weeks gestation, I was told that my son Nathan had Holoprosencephaly. If he did survive birth, he was likely to die within a few months. If he somehow survived beyond a few months, he wouldn’t make it past one year. And if he did happen to survive, there was little chance he’d ever walk or talk.

My son is now seven years old. During the first few months, I was just so happy that he survived and was just settling into taking care of a child with medical problems; I was really just in survival mode..

Leave a Reply

